top of page
  • Writer's pictureJulia

Immanuel


As I search for hope and peace in this Christmas season, I am reminded of so many verses, those that foretold the birth of Jesus and those which told of the events of that special time. As I go through the month of December I am going to try and concentrate on one verse at a time in my daily Bible studies.

Today's verse reminded me of one of the special names given to Jesus: Immanuel.

In the Hebrew language the name means "God with us". What a wonderful promise! God is with us in very real way since the birth of our Savior. As He told His disciples "Anyone who has seen me has seen the Father"(John 14:9 NIV). Jesus showed us what God the Father is really like with His every word and action. In the body of Jesus, God provided a way that He might walk and talk with His Creation again for the first time since the Garden of Eden.

And then He promised us that He would provide a way that He might be with each us in a daily and even moment by moment communion. Jesus said "And I will pray the Father, and He shall give you another Comforter, that He may abide with you for ever; Even the Spirit of truth; whom the world cannot receive, because it seeth him not, neither knoweth him: but ye know him; for he dwelleth with you, and shall be in you." (John 14:16-17) It is difficult to comprehend the Love that God has for His creation that made Him want to be this close to us. It is something that I want to keep at the forefront of my mind as I go through my day.

Truly Jesus birth, His sacrificial death and His glorious resurrection fulfilled this name of Immanuel! Through His gift of the Holy Spirit, God is with us in a very real way. We have access to His comfort, His counsel and His presence every moment of our day. We have only to look inside ourselves and listen to His still small voice. God Is With Us!

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page